

Annual General Meeting – July 7, 2020 Report from the Quality Improvement and Safety Committee

The Quality Improvement & Safety Committee of the Nova Scotia Health Authority was established to support the Board in fulfilling its mandate to provide governance oversight in relation to quality of care and service, safety and system performance. This included, but was not limited to aspects of strategic plans, corporate performance, and stakeholder relations; and any other quality improvement, safety, outcome or performance monitoring matter that was referred to the Committee by the Board for its consideration and recommendation.

In the past year, the Quality Improvement and Safety Committee:

- Monitored and provided governance oversight in relation to the achievement of the organizations goals, objectives and priorities
- Monitored achievement of the requirements of the accountability agreement between the Department of Health & Wellness and NSHA
- Provided governance oversight in relation to the development, maintenance and evaluation of the organizations quality improvement and safety program, including:
 - o the organization's quality improvement and oversight structure
 - o approach to patient engagement
 - appropriateness of care strategy
 - safety culture strategy
- Monitored, through the President & CEO, the quality of care provided by NSHA and the existence of effective systems for follow-up and corrective action
- Monitored patient safety incidents, serious reportable events, infection control measures, patient satisfaction and organizational performance reporting
- Ensured the organization and Board of Directors met Accreditation Canada's requirements
- Monitored patient engagement in quality improvement and service planning and the implementation of patient/family presence initiatives
- Provided oversight for the organizations enterprise risk management process, and monitored and reported to the Board on significant risks to the NSHA relating to quality and patient safety

Committee Membership during 2019-20:

Dr. Louise Cloutier (Chair), Paul Comeau, Dr. Cindy Forbes (non-voting), Dr. Frances Moriarty (non-director committee member, non-voting), Sheila Sears, Janice Stairs, Frank van Schaayk (Board Chair, ex-officio, Voting), Janet Knox/Dr. Brendan Carr (President & CEO, ex-officio, non-voting), Colin Stevenson (VP, non-voting), Dr. Nicole Boutilier (VP Medicine, non-voting), Tim Guest/Dr. Gail Tomblin Murphy (VP/CNE, non-voting)

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Louise Cloutier, Chair, Quality Improvement and Safety Committee